Research Consultations

Research got you down? Confused about where to start? Get help!

Consult with your subject librarian to discuss

  • ideas, research topics and subject databases
  • critical thinking and search strategies
  • citation management
  • any other research questions you have

Email (or phone) the librarian for your topic area to set up an appointment. Not sure who to contact or need help now?  Try one of our Ask the Library services.

Let us know your research topic, what help you'd like, and some possible dates/times you are available.

Who can use this service?

All MSU students, faculty, and staff, as well as community members. We will work with groups as well as individuals. We can consult in person or if you are not in Bozeman, we can consult online as well

 

Department Subject Librarian Email Phone (406)
ACE Language Institute Jim Thull jjthull@montana.edu 994-5305
Agriculture Amy Bekkerman and Ryer Banta amy.bekkerman@montana.edu and ryer.banta@montana.edu 994-6668
American Studies Jan Zauha jzauha@montana.edu 994-6554
Animal and Range Sciences Amy Bekkerman and Ryer Banta amy.bekkerman@montana.edu and ryer.banta@montana.edu 994-6668
Anthropology Hannah McKelvey hannah.mckelvey@montana.edu 994-5334
Architecture Jim Thull jjthull@montana.edu 994-5305
Art Jim Thull jjthull@montana.edu 994-5305
Business Greg Notess align@montana.edu 994-6563
Cell Biology & Neuroscience Leila Sterman leila.sterman@montana.edu 994-4519
Chemical & Biological Engineering Kris Johnson krisjohnson@montana.edu 994-7708
Chemistry & Biochemistry Greg Notess align@montana.edu 994-6563
Children's Literature Sheila Bonnand sbonnand@montana.edu 994-4130
Civil Engineering Jim Thull jjthull@montana.edu 994-5305
Computer Science Sara Mannheimer sara.mannheimer@montana.edu 994-3361
Earth Sciences Sheila Bonnand sbonnand@montana.edu 994-4130
Ecology Kirsten Ostergaard kirsten.ostergaard@montana.edu 994-4313
Economics Amy Bekkerman amy.bekkerman@montana.edu 994-6668
Education Mary Anne Hansen mhansen@montana.edu 994-3162
Electrical & Computer Engineering Susan Borda susan.borda@montana.edu 994-1873
English (Literature & Writing) Jan Zauha jzauha@montana.edu 994-6554
Extension Amy Bekkerman and Ryer Banta amy.bekkerman@montana.edu and ryer.banta@montana.edu 994-6668
Extension Service Amy Bekkerman amy.bekkerman@montana.edu 994-6668
Film and Photography Jason Clark jaclark@montana.edu 994-6801
Gallatin College Mary Anne Hansen mhansen@montana.edu 994-3162
Government Documents Amy Foster amy.foster3@montana.edu 994-5301
Graduate School Greg Notess align@montana.edu 994-1873
Health & Human Development Mary Anne Hansen mhansen@montana.edu 994-3162
History Jan Zauha jzauha@montana.edu 994-6554
International Programs Mary Anne Hansen mhansen@montana.edu 994-3162
Land Resources and Environmental Sciences Amy Bekkerman and Ryer Banta amy.bekkerman@montana.edu and ryer.banta@montana.edu 994-6668
Liberal Studies Jan Zauha jzauha@montana.edu 994-6554
Mathematical Sciences Susan Borda susan.borda@montana.edu 994-1873
Mechanical & Industrial Engineering Scott Young swyoung@montana.edu 994-6429
Microbiology and Immunology Leila Sterman leila.sterman@montana.edu 994-4519
Modern Languages & Literatures: Sheila Bonnand sbonnand@montana.edu 994-4130
Music Greg Notess align@montana.edu 994-6563
Native American Studies Jim Thull jjthull@montana.edu 994-5305
Nursing Sheila Bonnand and Mary Anne Hansen sbonnand@montana.edu and mhansen@montana.edu 994-3162
Philosophy Jan Zauha jzauha@montana.edu 994-6554
Physics Sheila Bonnand sbonnand@montana.edu 994-4130
Plant Sciences and Plant Pathology Amy Bekkerman and Ryer Banta amy.bekkerman@montana.edu and ryer.banta@montana.edu 994-6668
Political Science Doralyn Rossmann doralyn@montana.edu 994-6549
Pre-Med / WWAMI Sheila Bonnand and Mary Anne Hansen sbonnand@montana.edu and mhansen@montana.edu 994-3162
Psychology Mary Anne Hansen mhansen@montana.edu 994-3162
Religious Studies Jan Zauha jzauha@montana.edu 994-6554
Sociology and Anthropology Hannah McKelvey hannah.mckelvey@montana.edu 994-5334
Student Success / Smarty Cats Ryer Banta ryer.banta@montana.edu 994-6668
University Studies Ryer Banta ryer.banta@montana.edu 994-6668
Veterinary Medicine Amy Bekkerman and Ryer Banta amy.bekkerman@montana.edu and ryer.banta@montana.edu 994-6668
Women's Studies Jan Zauha jzauha@montana.edu 994-6554
Writing Center Jan Zauha jzauha@montana.edu 994-6554

Not sure who to contact or need help now? Contact the Research Center Desk.