Selected Native American Studies Resources
Print Resources
Biographical Sources
American Indian biographies – E89.A46 2005 (Reference)Being and becoming Indian: biographical studies of North American frontiers – E89.B45 1989
Biographical and historical index of American Indians and persons involved in Indian affairs – Z1209.U494
Native American women: a biographical dictionary – E98.W8B38 2001 (Reference)
Native North American literature: biographical and critical information on native writers and orators from the United States and Canada from historical times to the present – PS508.I5N38 1994 (Reference)
The Indian tribes of North America, with biographical sketches and anecdotes of the principal chiefs – E77.M1353 1972 (Special Collections)
Who was who in Native American history: Indians and non-Indians from early contacts through 1900 – E89.W35 1990 (Reference)
Dictionaries
A dictionary of Indian history – DS433.B48Dictionary of Native American literature – PM155.D53 1994
Dictionary of Native American mythology – E98.R3G46 1994
Dictionary of the American Indian – E77.S84
Encyclopedias [^]
American Indian religious traditions: an encyclopedia – E98.R3C728 2005 (Reference)Encyclopedia of American Indian civil rights – KF8210.C5E53 1997 (Reference)
Encyclopedia of American Indian contributions to the world: 15,000 years of inventions and innovations – E54.5.K46 2002 (Reference)
Encyclopedia of American Indian costume – E98.C8P37 1994 (Reference)
Encyclopedia of Indian wars: western battles and skirmishes, 1850-1890 – E83.863.M53 2003 (Reference)
Reference encyclopedia of the American Indian – E76.2.R4 1998 (Reference)
Linguistic [^]
A dictionary of the Numípu or Nez Perce language – PM2019.Z5M6 1895 (Special Collections)A dictionary of the Ojibway language – PM853.B28 1992 (Reference)
Lessons in reading & writing the Crow language – PM1001.L47 1982
The Athabaskan languages: perspectives on a Native American language family – PM641.A93 2000
The Navajo verb system: an overview – PM2007.Y77 2000
The Salish language family: reconstructing syntax – PM2262.K76 1999
Periodicals [^]
American Indian Art Magazine – E98.A7A43American Indian culture and research journal – E75.A5
American Indian quarterly – E75.A547
Indian country today – Newspaper
Native American law digest* – E-Journal
News from Indian country: the journal – Newspaper
Studies in American Indian literatures* – E-Journal
Tribal college: journal of American Indian higher education – E97.T72
*Available electronically. Use our JournaList to gain access.
Finding Articles & More [^]
All MSU Libraries indexes and databases for finding articles can be accessed online from on or off campus. Native American Studies headings are under specific disciplines or may be located by database name through the Alphabetical Listings. Students, faculty, staff and others directly associated with MSU are allowed off-campus access to our database collection by logging in. If you have problems with this process, call the Reference Desk at (406) 994-3371.
- America: History and Life - Provides abstracts to articles and dissertations on early U.S. and Canadian history.
- ARTstor - A searchable collection of more than 300,000 images including the Smithsonian's Native American Art and Culture collection.
- Bibliography of Native North Americans - Contains citations to works from 1500 to the present on the life, history and culture of Native Americans.
- Biography Resource Center - Contains over 415,000 biographies of both living and dead world figures.
- JSTOR - Offers full-text access to the majority of core scholarly journals in the Humanities.
- U.S. Congressional Serials Set - Contains a full-text collection of 19th century U.S. Congressional documents and is an excellent source for locating copies of treaties and congressional reports.
- WorldCat - An online catalog containing records for the majority of the worlds published works. It is an excellent source for locating resources for your research.
Web Resources
Arts & Literature [^]
- American Indian Dance Theatre
- Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art
- Heard Museum of Native Cultures and Art
- Institute of American Indian Arts
- National Museum of the American Indian
- Native American Authors
- Native Art Network
- Peoples of the Northern Great Plains Online Image Database
- Plains Art Museum
Census, Government & Statistics [^]
- American Indian and Alaska Native Populations, U.S. Census Bureau
- American Indian Resource Directory
- American Indian Policy Center
- Bureau of Indian Affairs
- Indian Health Service
- Indian Land Cessions in the United States, 1784-1894
- Index of North American Tribes
- Lakota Winter Counts
- Native American Nations
- US Census Bureau: American Indians and Alaska Natives in the US
- US Senate Committee on Indian Affairs
Institutes, Organizations & Research Centers [^]
- American Indian Center of Chicago
- American Indian Culture Research Center
- American Indian Library Association
- American Indian Movement
- American Indian Studies Research Institute
- Assembly of First Nations
- Association on American Indian Affairs
- Center for World Indigenous Studies
- Crazy Horse Native American Educational & Cultural Center
- MSU Department of Native American Studies
- National Indian Education Association
- South Dakota Oral History Center
- Tribal College Librarians Professional Development Institute
Legal [^]
- American Indian Resource Directory at Indians.org
- Handbook of Federal Indian Law
- Midwest Treaty Network
- Native American Rights Fund
- Seminal Supreme Court Cases Regarding Federal Indian Law
- Tribal Court Clearinghouse
- US Dept. of Justice Office of Tribal Justice
Linguistic [^]
- Alaska Native Language Center
- Comanche Language and Cultural Preservation Committee
- East Cree Language Web
- Endangered Language Fund
- First Nations Languages of British Columbia
- Indigenous Language Institute
- Intertribal Wordpath Society
- Iroquois Language and Songs
- Lakota Language Consortium
- Native Languages of the Americas
- Society for the Study of the Indigenous Languages of the Americas
- Woodland Cultural Center
- Yukon Native Language Center

