Libraries @ Montana State University

mobile-friendly page | skip navigation

MSU home page MSU Academic Affairs MSU Administration MSU Admissions Ask a Librarian Ask a Librarian Chat with a Librarian Use IM to Ask a Librarian a Question Ask a Librarian (Via Email) Ask a Librarian

Selected Grant Resources

This page is here to provide you with a starting point for finding grant writing resources and information on grants. Please contact a reference librarian if you would like assistance with finding information or using any of the sources listed here.

Selected Print Resources

The Complete Grants Sourcebook for Higher EducationRef LB2336.B38
Perfect phrases for writing grant proposals: hundreds of ready-to-use phrases to present
your organization, explain your cause, and get the funding you need
HG177.B76
The complete idiot's guide to grant writingHG177.5.U6T56
The art and science of grant writingHH 1.2:C 73/51/2006
The only grant-writing book you'll ever needHG177.5.U6K37
Guide to effective grant writing: how to write a successful NIH grantRA11.D6Y36
Money for graduate students in the biological & health sciencesLB2337.2.M653
Discretionary grants and contractsED 1.216: *EBOOK
Montana foundation directoryLB2337.2.M653
Proposals that work: a guide for planning dissertations and grant proposalsQ180.55.P7L63
The Grants RegisterRef LB 2338.G75
Grant Proposals that SucceededHG177.H69
Guidelines for Preparing Proposals: A Manual On How to Organize Winning Proposals for
Grants, Venture Capital, R&D Projects, and Other Proposals
HF5718.5.M43
The "How to" Grants Manual: Successful Grant-seeking Techniques for Obtaining
Public and Private Grants
HG177.B38
Proposal Planning & WritingHG177.5.U6M56
Writing a Successful Grant ApplicationR853.P75R44

Databases

The Foundation Directory Online lists foundations and grants given by foundations. This online version includes both a Foundation Database and a Grants Database. The foundations database contains a directory of the largest 10,000 foundations in the U.S. The grants database has over 500,000 grants awarded by foundations located in the United States. The Foundation Directory Online is only available for use in the library. To access the database, go to our Finding Articles & More page and search for it by name.

E-Journals

We subscribe to several grant, foundation and funding related periodicals in e-format. Try using our JournaList. Search by title or keyword for journals like Education Grants Alert or Chronicle of Philanthropy.

MSU Contacts

The Office of Corporate and Foundation Relations (CFR) is responsible for initiating and coordinating relationships with corporations and foundations that support MSU's teaching, research, and service mission. Remember to contact the CFR or your department's foundation officer to find out the proper protocols prior to requesting any funding. More information about CFR can be found at their website.

MSU Office of the Vice President for Research and Creative Activities provides a comprehensive website featuring federal, private and international funding opportunities, grants deadlines online, research regulations and policies, a proposal writing short course, MSU Research News, and much more.

Selected Internet Resources

GuideStar is a comprehensive source of information about nonprofit organizations. Copies of 990's and full reports are often available through this site. To view full reports, GuideStar requires that users create a free account.

Grants Information Collection has information on grants for students, researchers and non-profit organizations.

Yahoo Directory of Grant-Making Foundations categorizes links to grant makers and information on grants in several areas including agriculture, art and education.

Grants for Students and Researchers

GrantsNet provides resources to help to find funds for training in the sciences and undergraduate science education.

FinAid was established in the fall of 1994 as a public service and site has grown into a comprehensive source of student financial aid information.

Humanities Montana grants support several different types of projects: conferences, exhibits, lectures, media distribution, museum assistance, planning, oral history, workshop, and other projects designed to encourage innovation.

The Montana Arts Council provides grants to artists and for cultural and aesthetic projects in Montana.

The Montana State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB) provides scholarships of up to $1,000 to paid and volunteer staff of Montana’s cultural heritage institutions to attend training, educational workshops, or courses on topics related to the management and/or preservation of historical records.

Government Grants

Grants.gov is a clearinghouse for federal government grants and allows users to search and apply for federal government grants. There is a free registration required.

The National Endowment for the Humanities is an independent grant-making agency of the United States government dedicated to supporting research, education, preservation, and public programs in the humanities.

The U.S. Department of Education provides grants to all types of educational institutions. This site provides information on funding opportunities only all applications are submitted through Grants.gov.

The online Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance gives you access to a database of all Federal programs available to State and local governments.

print-friendly page | mobile-friendly page