Selected Online Business Resources
General Business Resources
Resources By Subject
Accounting and Taxes
- Accountants’ World – registration is free; offers a lot of useful links and information
- American Accounting Association
- American Taxation Association – this site offers abstracts of the Association's journals as well as links to a number of useful Tax Information metasites
- AICPA – the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, this site offers information on accreditation, education, professional standards, and conferences
- Citizens for Tax Justice – this site offers analysis of tax legislation and proposals
- Internal Revenue Service
- National Association of Tax Professionals
- TaxAnalysts – a meta site
- Tax Regulations
- U.S. Tax Treaties – requires Adobe Acrobat Reader
Banking [^]
- American Banking Association
- Bankrates
- Banking Center Information and Resource Reference
- European Central Bank
- FDIC (Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation)
- Federal Reserve Banks of the United States - many of the Federal Reserve Banks offer similar information but each specializes in its own geographic region. They offer a wide range of economic and banking information.
- National Information Center Web Page
- The World Bank Group
Business & Finance [^]
Business News [^]
General
|
Trade Publications [^]
Business Reference Sources [^]
- Super Pages – an online yellow pages service
- Price's List of Lists
- Style Guides
- U.S. Patent and Trademark Office – Databases: Patent Full-Text and Bibliographic
Business Schools [^]
This list does not attempt to be comprehensive. For information on other schools, try Bschool.com below.
- College of Business – Montana State University
- Bschool.com – a list and ranking of Business Schools
- Broad College of Business – Michigan State University
- Graduate School of Business – University of Chicago
- Harvard Business School
- Kelley School of Business – Indiana University
- Marshall School of Business – University of Southern California
- College of Business – Idaho State University
- Wharton School of Business – University of Pennsylvania
Company Information [^]
American Companies
- Corporate Information – a very useful site that is especially handy for finding investor information.
- Hoovers.com. This is an online version of Hoover's paper volumes. It is much more comprehensive, offering more than 14,000 companies. Some of the information is free.
- SEC Edgar – this site offers access to reports filed with the Securities Exchange Commission.
Montana Companies [^]
- BUSINESS – MONTANA resources from Nerd World Media – offers links to various Montana businesses and Chambers of Commerce
- Corporate Information – a very useful site that is especially handy for finding investor information
- Hoover’s.com – the online version of the various Hoover's paper volumes but with many more (over 14,000) businesses covered; available information varies from company to company
- Montana Business Resources and Laws – a state government site that includes quick facts and statistics
- MonTana BUSiness.COMmunications1-800-889-2839 – offers links to many Montana businesses which are listed by category
- Montana Business Directory – a fairly extensive listing of Montana businesses which can be searched by business type, alphabetically, and to a limited extent, geographically
- Montana Chambers of Commerce – links to Chambers of Commerce across the state
- Montana Department of Commerce
- Montana Department of Commerce, Census and Economic Information Center: Business Information – a wonderful site, packed with census and economic information for the state
- Montana – MontanaWeb! – Businesses & Economy – another site listing Montana businesses and employers by category
- Montana Natural Resource Information System – a wonderful site full of information on Montana's resources and geography
- SEC Edgar – the Securities and Exchange Commission's web site offers online copies of documents filed by public companies
- U.S. Small Business Administration Montana – a great site for the entrepeneur; offers links to Start-Up Kits, financial information and notices of Available Training throughout the state
International Companies [^]
- Yale University Library – Emerging Markets Subject Guides
- CAROL – International annual reports
- CIA World Factbook
- Corporate Information – offers access to over 350,000 company profiles
- Country Studies/Area Information – this site replaces the hardbound books previously published by the US government
- European Central Bank
- Foreign Governments – links to governments and trade organizations around the world
- Historical Currency Conversion
- Hoovers.com
- Hoover's U.K. – similar to the US based Hoovers.com but offering more information on British and European companies
- Infonation – International Statistical Data
- International Government Organizations
- Stat-USA – gathers information from various US government organizations; available only to MSU students, faculty and staff
- U.S. International Trade Administration
- Universal Currency Converter
Stock Market & Investments [^]
- Big Charts – present and historical stock information
- Commodity Class-Sch.B
- Dow Jones Indexes – lists the various indexes and their component companies
- Morningstar – mutual fund and stock ratings
- Mutual Funds Center
- Standard & Poor's – information on various indices and other services
- Stock Splits Calendar
- T Bills, Notes, Bonds – information from the US Treasury Department on rates, sales, etc.
- Yahoo!-Finance
Employment [^]
- Academic Position Network
- Careerbuilder.com – a site for posting resumés and searching for jobs
- Career Guides – a meta-site offering links to a wide variety of career guides
- CareerMag.com Job Openings Database
- CareerPath.com
- CareerOneStop.org – a U.S. Department of Labor-sponsored Web site that offers career resources and workforce information
- The Chronicle of Higher Ed: Jobs
- EmploymentWeb.com
- Hoovers.com – offers a broad overview and contact information for over 14,000 companies.
- JobSmart - Provides information on resume writing, career guides, salaries and more.
- Monster.com – free resumé bank and job search
- MSU Career Services
- Occupational Outlook Handbook – the OOH offers a forecast of the occupational opportunities for many categories of employment
- State of Montana Job Systems
- Yahoo Employment
- Webliography – a resumé builder and recruitment resource
Glossaries of Business & Financial Terms
- Glossaries of Financial Terms–Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
- Quicken Glossary of Financial Terms
- Washington Post Business Glossary
Internet Commerce [^]
- Bizweb – a directory of online companies, sorted by type of business
- NetworkWorldFusion – good source of news in the tech and e-commerce world
- Nielsen/Net Ratings – Ecommerce
- Techweb – e-commerce and tech company news and information
- Internetmarketinginfo.com – tips and techniques for Internet marketing
- Taming the Beast.net – tips and techniques for Internet marketing
Marketing/Advertising [^]
- Advertising Age – news from the current issue, hot new ads, and a job bank; the Ad Age Dataplace – offers lists of major agencies and a great deal of statistical information
- Adweek Online – news and reviews of advertising campaigns
- American Advertising Federation – a professional organization, the site is primarily for their members
- American Association of Advertising Agencies – news and information, primarily for member agencies
- American Marketing Association – a professional organization site, offers news and events
- Association of National Advertisers – a professional site, most information is only for members
- The Direct Marketing Association – includes news, links, professional associations
- International Advertising Association – news, professional development and publications
- Marketing Links – this site is part of a large metasite which is graphics free for rapid loading
- Marketing Resource Center – a meta site, it offers free registration, extensive links, news, and analysis
- Public Relations Society of America – a professional society, this site offers news, links, and contact information
Montana Chambers of Commerce [^]
Small Business [^]
- American Association of Franchisees and Dealers
- American Express Small Business – this site offers a variety of tools and resources
- Black Enterprise
- Ed Lowe Foundation – tools and resources for entrepeneurs
- EnterWeb – a meta-site offer links to a wide variety of useful materials
- Entreprenuer Magazine
- Hispanic Business Magazine
- Inc. Magazine
- Small Business Administration
- Small Business Corner – an IRS page
- Small Business Development Center (SBDC)
- Small Business Online Newsletters
- U.S. Business Advisor – an excellent site full of useful information and tools
- Women's Work
Statistics [^]
|

