Libraries @ Montana State University

mobile-friendly page | skip navigation

MSU home page MSU Academic Affairs MSU Administration MSU Admissions Ask a Librarian Ask a Librarian Chat with a Librarian Use IM to Ask a Librarian a Question Ask a Librarian (Via Email) Ask a Librarian

Selected Art Resources

Most of the material for art can be found in the Creative Arts Library (CAL) located on the second floor of Cheever Hall, Room 207. Additional sources of information on art, architecture and related fields are housed in the Renne Library. Check the library catalog to find the exact location of material.

Call Numbers for Art Subjects

N - Visual Arts
NA - Art
NB - Sculpture
NC - Drawing, Design
ND - Painting
NE - Print Media
NK - Decorative Arts and Applied Arts

 

Print Resources

Biographical Sources

Art books: A Basic Bibliography of Monographs on Artists – Z5938.F73 1985 (CAL-Reference)
Eakins Revealed: The Secret Life of an American Artist – N6537.E3A84 2005
Fine Arts: a Bibliographic Guide to Basic Reference Works, Histories, and Handbooks – Z5931.E47 (CAL-Reference)
Lelooska: The Life of a Northwest Coast Artist – E78.N78F75 2003
Originals: American Women Artists – N6512.M78 2000
The Five Crows Ledger: Biographic Warrior Art of the Flathead Indians – E99.S2K49 2000
Who Was Who in American Art – N6536.W56 1985 CAL Ref

Dictionaries [^]

Dictionary of Contemporary American Artists – N6536.C8 1994 CAL-Reference)
Dictionary of Women Artists – N43.P47 1985 (CAL-Reference)
Nineteenth-Century Painters and Painting: A Dictionary – ND190.N57 (CAL)
The Dictionary of Symbols in Western Art – N7740.C29 1995 (CAL-Reference)
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists – N33.T52 1985 (CAL)
The Oxford Dictionary of Art – N33.O93 1988 (CAL-Reference)
Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists – N33.L353 2000 (CAL-Reference)

Encyclopedias [^]

An Encyclopedia of Women Artists of the American West – N8214.5.U6K68 1998 (CAL-Reference)
Encyclopedia of American Folk Art – NK805.E62 2004 (CAL-Reference)
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography – N7560.E53 1998 (CAL-Reference)
Encyclopedia of World Art – N31.E55 (CAL-Reference)
Larousse encyclopedia of Renaissance and Baroque art – N6370.H813 (CAL)
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art – E98.A7W49 2000

Periodicals [^]

American Indian Art Magazine – E98.A7A43
Art Bin* – E-Journal
Art Business News* – E-Journal
Art Education – N81.A86
Art in America* – E-Journal
Art Journal* – E-Journal
Art on Paper – NE1.P692 (CAL)
Art Psychotherapy* – E-Journal
Arts and Activities* – E-Journal
Artweek – N1.A88 (CAL)

*Available electronically. Use our JournaList to gain access.

Finding Articles & More [^]

All MSU Libraries indexes and databases can be accessed online from on or off campus. Art and Architecture headings are under specific disciplines or may be located by database name through the Alphabetical Listings. Students, faculty, staff and others directly associated with MSU are allowed off-campus access to our database collection by logging in. If you have problems with this process, call the Reference Desk at (406) 994-3171.

  • Art Abstracts - A bibliographic resource providing abstracts to recent articles from more than 300 journals, museum bulletins, and annuals.
  • ARTstor - A searchable collection of more than 300,000 images. Major collections include the Smithsonian's Native American Art and Culture collection and the Huntington Archive of Asian Art.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art - Provides indexing and article abstracts for art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, art exhibitions and dealer's catalogs. BHA covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present.
  • LexisNexis Academic - A source for national and international newspaper, magazine, and journal articles. An excellent source for exhibition reviews.
  • WorldCat - Provides information on books and material available at libraries worldwide. An excellent source for locating material that is not held by MSU libraries.

Art Museums & Galleries [^]

Alabama: Birmingham Museum of Art | Huntsville Museum of Art
Alaska: Anchorage Museum of History and Art
Arizona: Heard Museum of Native Cultures and Art | Museum of Northern Arizona
Arkansas: Arkansas Arts Center
California: Asian Art Museum of San Francisco | J. Paul Getty Museum | San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
Colorado: Boulder Museum of Contemporary Art | Denver Art Museum
Connecticut: Wadsworth Athenaeum Museum of Art | Yale University Art Gallery
Delaware: Delaware Art Museum
Florida: Norton Museum of Art | Orlando Museum of Art | Polk Museum of Art | Salvador Dali Museum
Georgia: Georgia Museum of Art
Hawaii: The Contemporary Museum
Idaho: Boise Art Museum | The Art Museum of Eastern Idaho
Illinois: Art Institute of Chicago | Elmhurst Art Museum | National Vietnam Veterans Art Museum
Indiana: Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art
Iowa: Cedar Rapids Museum of Art
Kansas: Beach Museum of Art | Wichita Art Museum
Kentucky: Speed Art Museum | University of Kentucky Art Museum
Louisiana: Louisiana Art and Science Museum
Maine: Colby College Museum of Art | Portland Museum of Art
Maryland: American Visionary Art Museum | Baltimore Museum of Art | The Walters Art Museum
Massachusetts: Museum of Fine Arts Boston
Michigan: Detroit Museum of Art
Minnesota: Frederick R. Weisman Art Museum | Walker Art Center
Mississippi: Mississippi Museum of Art | Walter Anderson Museum of Art
Missouri: Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art | Springfield Art Museum
Montana: Missoula Art Museum | C.M. Russell Museum | Hockaday Museum of Art | Holter Museum of Art | Yellowstone Art Museum
Nebraska: Joslyn Art Museum | Museum of Nebraska Art
Nevada: Nevada Museum of Art
New Hampshire: Currier Museum of Art | Hood Museum of Art
New Jersey: Jane Voorhees Zimmerli Art Museum | Noyes Museum of Art | Princeton University Art Museum
New Mexico: Blue Rain Gallery | Georgia O'Keeffe Museum
New York: Guggenheim Museum | Metropolitan Art Museum | Museum of Modern Art
North Carolina: Ackland Art Museum | North Carolina Museum of Art
North Dakota: North Dakota Museum of Art | Plains Art Museum
Ohio: Cleveland Museum of Art | Taft Museum of Art
Oklahoma: National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum | Sherwin Miller Museum of Jewish Art
Oregon: Coos Art Museum | Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art
Pennsylvania: Institute of Contemporary Art | Philadelphia Museum of Arts
Rhode Island: RISD Museum
South Carolina: Bob Jones University Museum & Gallery | Gibbes Museum of Art
South Dakota: Adams Museum | Redlin Art Center
Tennessee: Hunter Museum of American Art | Knoxville Museum of Art
Texas: Art Museum of Southeast Texas | Dallas Museum of Art | Museum of Fine Arts Houston
Utah: Utah Museum of Fine Arts
Vermont: Frog Hollow
Virginia: Contemporary Art Center of Virginia
Washington: Seattle Art Museum | Tacoma Art Museum | Wing Luke Asian Museum
Washington, D.C.: National Art Gallery | National Museum of the American Indian | Smithsonian Institute
West Virginia: Huntington Museum of Art
Wisconsin: Chazen Museum of Art | John Michael Kohler Arts Center | Milwaukee Art Museum
Wyoming: National Museum of Wildlife Art | Nicolaysen Art Museum and Discovery Center
International: Glenbow Museum, Calgary, Canada | Hong Kong Museum of Art, Hong Kong, China | Louve, Paris, France | Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Havana, Cuba | Museu Nacional d'Art de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain | National Gallery of Iceland, Reykjavik, Iceland Rijks Museum, Amsterdam, Netherlands | Seoul Metropolitan Museum of Art, Seoul, South Korea | State Hermitage Museum, St.Petersburg, Russia | Tehran Museum of Contemporary Art, Tehran, Iran

print-friendly page | mobile-friendly page