Libraries @ Montana State University

mobile-friendly page | skip navigation

MSU home page MSU Academic Affairs MSU Administration MSU Admissions Ask a Librarian Ask a Librarian Chat with a Librarian Use IM to Ask a Librarian a Question Ask a Librarian (Via Email) Ask a Librarian

Selected Architecture Resources

Most of the material for architecture can be found in the Creative Arts Library (CAL) located on the second floor of Cheever Hall, Room 207. Additional sources of information on art, architecture and related fields are housed in the Renne Library. Check the library catalog to find the exact location of material.

Print Resources

Biographical Sources

10.10-2: 100 architects, 10 critics – NA680.O533 2005 (CAL)
African-American architects: a biographical dictionary, 1865-1945 – NA736.A47 2004 (CAL)
Building the West: the early architects of British Columbia – NA748.B85 2003 (CAL)
Cass Gilbert: the early years – NA737.G5B58 2001 (CAL)
Frank Lloyd Wright: America's master architect – NA737.W7S42 1998 (CAL)
Josef Frank: life and work – NA1011.5.F7L66 2002 (CAL)
Mary Colter, architect of the Southwest – NA737.C6B47 2002 (CAL)
The architect: women in contemporary architecture – NA1997.A73 2001 (CAL)
Who's who in architecture: from 1400 to the present – NA40.W48 (CAL-Reference)

Codes & Standards [^]

2004 supplement to the international codes – K3538.I673 2004 (Reference)
Energy efficiency standards for residential and nonresidential buildings: standards/regulations – TJ163.5.B84E5428 1995
Fifty-year index to A.S.T.M. technical papers and reports, 1898-1950 – TA401.A525 1898/1950 (Reference)
Foundation engineering handbook: design and construction with the 2006 international building code – TA775.D39 2005
International fire code – K3674.I58 2003 (Reference)
International plumbing code – K3542.I58 1997 (CAL-Reference)
Minimum design loads for buildings and other structures – TH851.M56 2003 (Reference)
Uniform building security code – KF5701.Z9I56 1997 (CAL-Reference)

Dictionaries [^]

A dictionary of landscape architecture – SB469.25.M67 1987
Architectural and building trades dictionary – 690.C85a
A visual dictionary of architecture – NA31.C44 1995 (CAL-Reference)
Dictionary of architectural and building technology – NA31.C63 1986 (CAL-Reference)
Dictionary of architectural science – NA31.C64 (CAL)
Illustrated dictionary of architecture – NA31.B83 1998 (CAL-Reference)
The Metapolis dictionary of advanced architecture: city, technology and society in the information age – NA680.M48 2003 (CAL)

Encyclopedias [^]

Encyclopedia of 20th century architecture – NA200.S74 1983 (CAL)
Encyclopedia of American architecture – NA705.H86 1980 (CAL)
Encyclopedia of architecture – NA680.E543 2004 (CAL-Reference)
Encyclopedia of architecture: design, engineering & construction – NA31.E59 1988 (CAL-Reference)
Encyclopedia of vernacular architecture of the world – NA208.E53 1997 (CAL)
Encyclopedia of world architecture – NA31.Y37 1986 (CAL-Reference)

Periodicals [^]

ACADIA quarterly – NA2728.A24 (CAL)
Architecture* – E-Journal
Architectural record* – E-Journal
Architectural review* – E-Journal
Inland architect – NA722.I54 (CAL)
Journal of architectural education* – E-Journal
Journal of architectural engineering* – E-Journal
Landscape architecture – SB469.L3
Landscape journal – SB469.L37
Living architecture – NA6.L58 (CAL)
The Architects' journal – NA1.A46 (CAL)

*Available electronically. Use our JournaList to gain access.

Finding Articles & More [^]

All MSU Libraries indexes and databases can be accessed online from on or off campus. Art and Architecture headings are under specific disciplines or may be located by database name through the Alphabetical Listings. Students, faculty, staff and others directly associated with MSU are allowed off-campus access to our database collection by logging in. If you have problems with this process, call the Reference Desk at (406) 994-3371.

  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals - A bibliographic resource providing citations to articles dating from 1860, with substantial coverage from 1930 to present. The index contains more than 400,000 citations from over 2,300 national and international periodicals.
  • MAD CAD - Provides online access to selected building, fire, safety, plumbing, maintenance, and electrical codes.
  • LexisNexis Academic - A source for state codes and information on architectural competitions.
  • WorldCat - Provides information on books and material available at libraries worldwide.

Web Resources

Centers, Institutes & Organizations [^]

Codes, Standards, Government & Statistics [^]

Designs, Images & Photographs [^]

print-friendly page | mobile-friendly page