Selected Agriculture & Extension Resources
Census, Statistics, & Economics
- AgEcon Search – index to agricultural economics literature, mainly U.S. with some international articles.
- Econ Lit – index for economic literature worldwide.
- Montana Census and Economic Information Center – the official source of census data for Montana. CEIC maintains a collection of documents and electronic files that address the economy and population of the state (historical as well as current), including special papers and annual, quarterly and monthly statistical reports from federal agencies and other Montana state agencies. The Census and Economic Information Center, within the Economic Development Division of the Montana Department of Commerce, assists individuals, businesses, governments, communities and economic development efforts by providing Montana demographic and economic information and statistics, as well as technical expertise.
- USDA Economic Research Service – ERS provides economic analyses to support... a competitive agricultural system; a safe food supply; a healthy, well-nourished population; harmony between agriculture and the environment; and enhanced quality of life for rural Americans.
- Montana Agricultural Statistics Service – provides links in the left column for Crop Weather, Crops, Livestock, Economics/Prices, County Data, Press Releases, General Information, Ag Census, a Site Index, contact via Email Us, and a Published Estimate Database (IPEDB) for U.S., state, and county level agricultural statistics for many commodities and data series.
- National Agricultural Statistics Service – takes the user to Statistical Information for publications, graphics, historical data, a search engine, state information, research, Census of Agriculture, Today's Reports, and the Published Estimate Database. Also gives agency information through coming events and news, agency information, customer service, other links, NASS Kids.
- FAOSTAT Agricultural Data þ – international agricultural statistics.
- World Agricultural Outlook Board – reviews, approves, and publishes the USDA's commodity and farm sector forecasts.
- Trade Statistics – international trade statistics from the WTO, including ag commodities.
Commercial Sites [^]
- AgWeb – news and information from the publishers of Farm Journal and Beef Today
- @griculture online – news and information from the publishers of Successful Farming
- Community Alliance with Family Farmers – from the National Farmers Union.
- Agriculture at About.com - News releases and subject directory.
- AgView.com – searchable directory.
- American Farm Bureau – Voice of Agriculture - news and views on key agricultural issues.
- Food Industry Web sites and Nutrition Web sites – both compiled by the Food, Agriculture, and Nutrition Division of SLA.
General Agriculture & Extension Web Resources [^]
- Agriculture Network Information Center
- AgriGator's Agricultural Information Site Index
- AgriSurf
- Ceres Online
- E-Answers - 51 Extension Institutions providing information to all kinds of questions
- Farm Bill 2002
- Journal of Extension
- National Agriculture Library
- National Agricultural Statistical Service
- National Center for Agricultural Law Research and Information
- USDA
- USDA Economics & Statistics System
Finding Articles & More [^]
All MSU Libraries indexes and databases can be accessed online from on or off campus. Agriculture and Extension headings are under specific disciplines or may be located by database name through the Alphabetical Listings. Students, faculty, staff and others directly associated with MSU are allowed off-campus access to our database collection by logging in. If you have problems with this process, call the Reference Desk at (406) 994-3371.
- CAB Abstracts – choose this index for in-depth research, many articles, and international perspective. Indexes articles from 14,000+ journals.
- Biological & Agricultural Index – a good place to start, especially if you just need 3 or 4 articles on a topic. Indexes articles from 112 core ag journals and 113 biology journals.
- CSA Environmental Sciences
- Agricultural & Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts (also from CSA)
- Web of Science: Sciences Citation Index – covering all areas of the sciences, indexes just over 5000 journals.
- Biological Abstracts
- Zoological Record
- Agricola – USDA publications and reports.
- Prompt - excellent resource for locating trade and industry information.
- AgEcon Search
- Econ Lit
- Ecology Abstracts (also from CSA)
- Merck Veterinary Manual – “The single most comprehensive electronic reference for animal care information.”
- AgNIC Agriculture Network Information Center – free database of links to agricultural resources on the WWW.
International Sites [^]
- Food & Agriculture Organization (FAO) – an agency of the United Nations.
- Agris database – free, covering the international literature of agriculture.
- AANRO – Australian agriculture and natural resources online, free.
- Canada Agriculture – Farm Business Communications
- Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR)
- CGIAR Publications – international agricultural publications on a variety of topics, freely available.
- World Trade Organization – agency of the United Nations, covering trade disputes and other trade regulations.
- U.N. Organizations (all agencies list)
Montana Agricultural Experiment Station Publications (1895- ) [^]
| Title | Holdings |
|---|---|
| Annual Report | Stacks S83.E2 *1893/1952
SpecUpub S83.E2 *1893/1952 |
| Bulletin | Stacks S83.E3 *1(1894)-752(1983)
Mfilm 637, Reels 1-12 *1(1894)-630(1969) SpecUpub S83.E3 *1(1894)-752(1983) |
| Capsule Information Series | Stacks S83.C3 *1(197?)-38(1991) missing 3, 9, 10
SpecUpub S83.C3 *1(197?)-38(1991) |
| Circular | Stacks S83.E3 (bound with Bulletin) *1(1908)-215, 235-241
Stacks S83.E4 *216-234, 242-251(1971) Mfilm 638, Reels 1-3 *1(1908)-251(1971) SpecUpub S83.E3 (bound with Bulletin) *1(1908)-215, 235-241 SpecUpub S83.E4 *216-234, 242-251(1971) |
| Exchange (jointly issued with Extension Service and College of Agriculture) | SpecUpub S544.3.M9E9 *1(1990)-5:2(Fall 1994) |
| List and Indexes of Montana Agricultural Experiment Station Publications | Ref Desk S83.L57 *1894-1977
Stacks S83.L57 *1894-1977 SpecUpub S83.L57 *1894-1977 |
| Mimeo Circular | Stacks S83.E415 *1(1937)-100(1957)
SpecUpub S83.E415 *1(1937)-100(1957) |
| Miscellaneous Publication | Stacks S83.M57 *1(1958)-15(1974)
Mfilm 639, Reel 1 *1(1958)-15(1974) SpecUpub S83.M57 *1(1958)-18(1981) |
| Montana Agresearch | Stacks S83.M64 *1(1984)-12:2(1995)
SpecUpub S83.M64 *1(1984)-12:2(1995) |
| Now (some issues jointly issued with Cooperative Extension Service) | Stacks S83.N68 *1(1965)-14(1978)
Mfilm 620, Reel 1 *1(1965)-14(1978) SpecUpub S83.N68 *1(1965)-14(1978) |
| Research Report | Stacks S83.E75 *1(1970)-213(1983) Incomplete
SpecUpub S83.E75 *1(1970)-213(1983) Incomplete |
| Special Circular | Stacks S83.E27 *1(1913)-7(1920)
SpecUpub S83.E27 *1(1913)-7(1920) |
| Special Report (1940) | Stacks S83.S63 *1(1940)-5, 7-15(1958)
SpecUpub S83.S63 *1(1940)-5, 7-15(1958) |
| Special Report (1983) | Stacks S83.S632 *3(1984)- Incomplete
SpecUpub S83.S632 *1(1983)- Incomplete |
| War Circular | SpecUpub S83.E45 *1-8 |
Montana Extension Service Publications [^]
- The Montana Extension Service has gone through five name changes from its inception to the present. They are:
- Montana Extension Service in Agriculture and Home Economics (1915/Oct. 1960)
- Montana State College. Cooperative Extension Service (Nov. 1960/June 1965)
- Montana State University (Bozeman, Mont.). Cooperative Extension Service ( July 1965/1987)
- Montana State University (Bozeman, Mont.). Extension Service (1987/ June 1994)
- Montana State University (Bozeman, Mont.). Extension Service (July 1994- )
| Title | Holdings |
|---|---|
| AGNET Newsletter | SpecUpub S494.5.D3A46 *1978-1985 Incomplete |
| Annual Report | Stacks S83.E94 *1986/87-1992/93, 1995/96
SpecUpub S83.E94 *1962-1968, 1983/84-1995/96 |
| Big Sky Economics | SpecUpub S1.B54 1965-Mar. 1991 Incomplete |
| Bulletin (Issues numbered 1000-1351 sometimes called Multilith Bulletin) | Stacks S83.B84 *1(1915)-369(1987); 1000(1949)-1351(1986) Incomplete
Mfilm 642, Reels 1-6 *1-332 Incomplete Mfilm 646, Reels 1-2 1000-1069 Incomplete SpecUpub S83.B84 *1-369; 1000-1351 Incomplete |
| Catalog of publications and videos | Ref Desk S83.C27 *Latest plus updates only
SpecUpub S83.C27 *1997- |
| Challenges to Montana Agriculture | Stacks S83.C52 *1(1959)-2:2(1961) Incomplete
SpecUpub S83.C52 *1(1959)-2:2(1961) |
| Circular (Issues numbered 1000-1307 sometimes called [Multilith] circular) | Stacks S83.C57 *1-311;1000-1307 Incomplete
Mfilm 643, Reels 1-2 *1-294;1000-1101 Incomplete SpecUpub S83.C57 *1-311;1000-1307 Incomplete |
| EB | Stacks S83.M66 *1(1987)- Incomplete
SpecUpub S83.M66 *1(1987)- Incomplete |
| Exchange (jointly issued with Montana Agricultural Experiment Station and College of Agriculture) | SpecUpub S544.3.M9E9 *1(1990)-5:2(Fall 1994) |
| Extension, Education, Connection | Stacks S83.E97 *Feb.1988-1988:8
SpecUpub S83.E97 *Feb.1988-1988:8 |
| Focus on Montana Agriculture | Stacks S83.F62 *1(Win1979)-5:3(Sum1983)
SpecUpub S83.F62 *1(Win1979)-5:3 (Sum1983) |
| Folder | Stacks S83.F64 *1(1949)-253(1986)
Mfilm 644, Reel 1 *1(1949)-106(1969) SpecUpub S83.F64 *1(1949)-253(1986) |
| HO (Handout) | Stacks S83.H36 *1(1995), 4-6
SpecUpub S83.H36 *1(1995), 4-6, 12- |
| Leaflet | Stacks S83.L42 *1(1949)-355(1986)
Mfilm 645, Reel 1 *1(1949)-175(1969) Incomplete SpecUpub S83.L42 *1(1949)-355(1986) |
| List and Index of Montana Cooperative Extension Service Publications | Ref Desk S83.L58 *1915/70-1970/77
Stacks S83.L58 *1915/70-1970/77 SpecUpub S83.L58 *1915/70-1970/77 |
| Montana Crop Health Report | Stacks SB85.M9M66 *Apr.25,1988-
SpecUpub SB85.M9M66 *Apr.3,1987- |
| Montguide | Stacks S83.M8 *AG8201(1982)-9006(1990)
Stacks S83.M82 *HRD8301(1983)-9013(1990) Stacks S83.M83 *9104(1991)- SpecUpub S83.M8 *AG8201(1982)-9006(1990) SpecUpub S83.M82 *HRD8301(1983)-9013(1990) SpecUpub S83.M83 *9104(1991)- |
| Now (some issues jointly issued with Montana Agricultural Experiment Station) | Stacks S83.N68 *1(1965)-14(1978)
Mfilm 640, Reel 1 *1(1965)-14(1978) SpecUpub S83.N68 *1(1965)-14(1978) |
| Plan of Work | SpecUpub S83.E95 *1975/76-1995/97 Incomplete
(SpecUpub has earlier plans in various #'s) |
Montana Resources [^]
- Montana Extension Service
- Montana Department of Agriculture
- EPA Region 8 Agriculture Priority – includes information on pesticides risk reduction, animal feeding operations, etc.
- Integrated Pest Management – MSU Extension
- Montana Agricultural Experiment Station
- Montana Agricultural Statistics Service
- Montana Department of Natural Resources & Conservation
- Montana Farm Bureau Federation
- Montana Water – MSU Bozeman
- NRIS – Natural Resource Information System
- Montana Maps from NRIS
- Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife, & Parks
- Montana Department of Environmental Quality
- Montana Census and Economic Information Center
AGRICOLA Title Abbreviations [^]
You may do searches using the first letter of the abbreviation.Big-Sky-Econ-Mont-State-Univ-Coop-Ext-Serv
Bull-Mont-Agric-Exp-Stn
Bull-Mont-Agric-Exp-Stn-Mont-State-Univ
Bulletin/Montana Agricultural Experiment Station, Bozeman
Bulletin-Montana Agricultural Experiment Station
Bulletin/Montana Agricultural Experiment Station
Bulletin; no.
Bulletin/Montana Experiment Station
Bulletin/Montana State College, Agricultural Experiment Station
Bull-Coop-Ext-Serv-Mont-State-Univ
Bull-Mont-State-Univ-Coop-Ext-Serv
Bulletin (Montana State University (Bozeman). Extension Service)
Bulletin (Montana State University (Bozeman). Cooperative Extension Service)
Circular (Montana. Agricultural Experiment Station)
Circular (Montana State College. Agricultural Experiment Station)
Circular (State College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts (Montana) Agricultural Experiment Station)
Circ-Mont-State-Univ-Coop-Ext-Serv
EB-Mont-State-Univ-Ext-Serv
Focus-Mont-Agric
Focus-Mont-Agric-Coop-Ext-Serv-Mont-State-Univ
Mont-Agresearch
Mont-Agresearch-Mont-Agric-Exp-Stn-Mont-Univ
Montguide-MT-Agric-Mont-State-Univ-Coop-Ext-Serv
Montguide-MT-Hum-Resour-Dev-Mont-State-Univ-Coop-Ext-Serv
Now-Mont-Stat-Coll-Ext-Serv
Res-Rep-Mont-Agric-Exp-Stn
Res-Rep-Mont-State-Univ-Agric-Exp-Stn
Special Report (Montana Agricultural Experiment Station)
U.S. Sites [^]
- Agricultural Law: National Center for Agricultural Law Research and Information
- Food and Drug Administration
- Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition – includes information on biotechnology, pesticides, etc.
- Center for Veterinary Medicine – Includes information on drugs, which have been approved for animal use.
- U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) – numerous Agencies, Services and Programs related to agriculture including Rural Development and Food, Nutrition, and Consumer Services.
- Current Research Information System (CRIS) – “documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. Projects are conducted or sponsored by USDA research agencies, state agricultural experiment stations, the state land-grant university system, other cooperating state institutions, and participants in a number of USDA-administered grant programs, including Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR), National Research Initiative (NRI), Initiative for Future Agriculture and Food Systems (IFAFS), and Integrated Pest Management (IPM).”
- US Environmental Protection Agency – includes information on environmental management, regulations, pesticides, ground water, etc.
- US Department of the Interior – includes the Bureau of Land Management, Fish & Wildlife Service, National Park Service, Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Geological Survey, Office of Surface Mining, and Bureau of Indian Affairs.
- AgZines: a harvest of free agricultural journals – developed by USAIN members, lists free online journals, magazines, and newsletters from around the world.
- Core Historical Literature of Agriculture – “is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science.”
- Soils Surveys and Maps from NRCS
- Small Farms and Ranches
- Oregon Small Farms - Directory of links from OSU Extension should be of interest to small farmers everywhere.
- Sustainable Development
- NetVet – comprehensive resource for Veterinary and pet information on the WWW.
- Agricultural Market Information Virtual Library
- AgriGator – University of Florida's comprehensive directory of agricultural resources on the web.
- Market Information System – Includes information from USDA and Agricultural Marketing Service.
- Livestock Library from Oklahoma State University
- Managing Rangelands – covering 13 western states, including MT.
- National IPM Network – Pest Management
- Index of Data Sources for pest management
- Radcliffe's IPM World Textbook – Searchable textbook on pest management
- National Agricultural Pest Information System
Weather Sites [^]
- Billings—National Weather Service Forecast Office
- Glasgow—National Weather Service Forecast Office
- Great Falls—National Weather Service Forecast Office
- Missoula—National Weather Service Forecast Office
Rev. 9/24/07

